It is very important that you know what to do after a DUI. This does not only help you deal with the charges, it also helps you handle better the fines and penalties. It always helps to be knowledgeable about the law. It keeps you out of trouble and it helps you know your rights and find out ways on how to handle things to your advantage, like making payments on fines in Florida. Can one make payments on DUI Fines in Florida? Better we answer that, let us learn some important things about DUI laws in Florida.
In Florida, driving with a BAC or blood alcohol concentration of .08 percent or more is strictly prohibited. This is applicable to all drivers, regardless of the type of vehicle being driven. This is pursuant to the standard measurement imposed upon across the country. The BAC limit is for “impaired” drivers. For those under 21 years old, the BAC is .02%, while for drivers of commercial or transport vehicles, the BAC imposed is .04%.
The State of Florida strictly implements its laws and imposes appropriate DUI Fines and penalties. While you can control our intake of alcohol, you cannot, however, calculate if you’re already beyond the BAC limit, unless you have a breath analyzer. But it is better not to drink when driving. It is always the better move, not only for legal reasons, but more importantly for safety purposes. Drinking and driving can put your life, your future, your freedom, and even your finances in jeopardy.
In Florida, this is the general outline of the DUI Fines and penalties. For the first offense, a jail period of 6 to 9 months, plus a fine of $500 to $2,000 is imposed. For the second offense, it is 9 months to a year, plus a $1,000 to $4,000 fine. For the third, it is up to a year of imprisonment, plus a fine ranging from $2,000 to $5,000. Find out about the DUI Secrets Unveiled in order to handle the consequences imposed by law better and to turn things around to your advantage. But the best thing to do, legally, really is to hire a lawyer.
You can plead to a lesser offense in Florida if you’re charged with DUI. This is known as a plea bargain of wet reckless, and the conviction will be lessened to reckless driving involving alcohol. This is usually allowed if the alcohol amount is at the borderline and there was no accident involved. Take note that this is only applicable to first time offenders. It is, however, advised that you seek the help of a reliable lawyer whenever you want to make this kind of plea. Having a lawyer also helps you find out other legal options.
We’ve come to the heart of the matter, the ultimate question on whether you can make payments on DUI Fines in Florida. The answer is a resounding yes. There is a new law in the State of Florida that allows the offenders to pay the fines in instalments. The law allows the violators to set-up instalment payments that are interest-free. Such payments is for civil fines and penalties. This is more or less applicable to people with fines that exceed a thousand. A $100 fine would not need a payment plan, would it?
The law does not only apply to traffic violations, but to DUI offenses as well. In such case, the offender can pay both the criminal and civil fines in instalments. This is great news for working-class individuals. With the country’s economic and employment state, laws like this are of great help to our financially challenged drivers. This does not only help the motorists pay the fines in the means they can afford, this also makes the roads in Florida safer. However, if the violator misses to pay the scheduled instalment, he or she may be denied of a driver’s license, at the discretion of the judge.
This great news on paying DUI Fines in instalment should not encourage you to hit the road intoxicated. It is always better to be responsible driver. As much as possible, don’t drink and drive. But if you got into trouble, hire a lawyer. Contact us if you need one.